Posted in Flash Fiction

What Was In Room 5?

The prompt this week from 100WCGU is ‘…. but I turned it off ….’

Picture by juicyrai

Room 5

“But I turned it off Doctor. It’s what you told me to do, turn off the machine in Room 5.”

“Idiot! I said Room 25, not Room 5. My God what have you done?”

Doctor Peterson brushed aside the orderly and rushed off down the corridor. He knew a mistake at this stage would cost him more than his job. Opening the door to Room 5 he prayed  he might be in time to retrieve the situation. A glance around the room confirmed his worst fears. The bed was empty, the window smashed. The creature was alive and out there somewhere.

MikeJackson©2012

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

12 thoughts on “What Was In Room 5?

  1. Haha, for whatever reason I found this to be funny and chilling. You did a good job with it. Initially I figured the narrator was an orderly in the hospital, but the ambiguity of the end got me thinking. Well done!

    I just posted a piece of flash-fiction on my blog that goes for the same type of ambiguity you’ve done here. I’d love it if you could check it out and offer any comments: http://carefullyarrangedwords.wordpress.com/2012/03/15/ashes-to-ashes/

    Like

  2. Nice take on the hospital setting! I agree with davidhickswriting that, while the reveal is frightening, the orderly/doctor dialogue made me smile, for some reason. I imagine some frazzled doc ready to whap the orderly! 😀

    An intriguing twist, and I’m left to wonder just what it was exactly that was in Room 5…!

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

