Writing – Do You Have A special Place?

Where do you write? Does it matter where you put pen to paper? Do you find that some places give you more inspiration than others? I share these questions with you because they have been ones that I have been pondering over lately. This is a picture of one of the places that I like to go to when I want some peace and quiet, some thinking time. It is my ‘Studio’ – I have friends who will insist on calling it a shed, which, of course, it isn’t! It is my pride and joy,  I could spend the rest of this post telling you how I built it myself from scratch, about its cedar wood shingle roof, it’s double glazed window and insulated walls and roof …….. but I won’t. It is extremely cosy.  I have quite a few of my books in there, heating, lighting and internet access and, most importantly of all, a really comfortable armchair for me to sink into and think, read or write.

There are days when my wife will openly encourage me to ‘go down to my shed …. studio’ This is usually a sign that I’m getting under her feet and she needs some peace and quiet of her own. I rarely argue. Despite it being only at the bottom of the garden and close to a fairly busy road it is my oasis. Once I’m in there I could be anywhere, but most importantly I am unlikely to be interrupted. I can’t hear the door bell and I don’t take my mobile phone with me ……. so if anyone needs me they have to come looking for me and, I’m glad to say, they rarely do.

When I first built my studio I built in a desk – part of my grand plan that when I retired I was going to sit there and write. It didn’t work and at first I couldn’t think why. Then it struck me – it was the desk! I had spent 25 years as a primary school head teacher working at a ‘desk’ and here I was replicating my office in my studio. So a year ago I took out the desk and replaced it with a big, comfy armchair and a coffee table for the cups of tea and notebooks. It was the best thing that I ever did.

It has not get the best view in the world, it doesn’t overlook the sea or some staggeringly beautiful landscape (not that my wife hasn’t created a lovely garden, I hasten to add) but it’s mine. It’s somewhere that I enjoy going to and hopefully will be the birth place of much more writing. What about you? Where do you love to go to when you want to think or write?

MikeJackson©2012

6 thoughts on “Writing – Do You Have A special Place?

  1. It’s lovely, Mike. I have a similar “shed” which I’ve considered converting to my “studio.” Best of all, it has no internet to distract me. One of these days . . .

    Thanks for your post. You’ve motivated me. 🙂

    1. Thanks for your comments Jan.
      I’m in my ‘Studio’ (shed) now & as you can guess it has internet access – an enjoyable distraction.
      Keep me posted on your studio conversion.

    1. Thanks for dropping by Tony.
      I’ve just had a look at your post – fascinating. I always knew about Roadl Dahl’s shed but never Dylan Thomas’.
      I like the sound of his writing routine ……. in particular the crossword & pub bit.

  2. Currently I write wherever I have a spare moment – in front of the computer, waiting for my children while they are busy with activities, on the train.

I look forward to reading your comments

