‘Last Diary Entry – Wednesday 9th November’ – 100WCGU

Another 100 word story for this week’s prompt at 100WCGU. Not sure if trying to write an extract from a diary works within the constraints of 100 words.

Last Diary Entry – Wednesday 9th November

Sunday 6th November
Spent the weekend with Dad. Kept going on, again, about what a bitch mum is. Wants me to live with him.

Monday 7th November
Mum quizzed me for hours. Then reminded me, yet again, what a deceitful bastard my Dad was. Wants me to stop seeing him.

Tuesday 8th November
Family Court judge said I’m old enough to make up my own mind. I’ve got to choose – Mum or Dad?  It’s not fair.

Wednesday 9th November
I’ve had enough. I’ve left a note saying I want my ashes put into two small urns – one for each of them.

MikeJackson©2012

20 thoughts on “‘Last Diary Entry – Wednesday 9th November’ – 100WCGU

  1. Dear Mike,

    I read your story line by line, not knowing where you were leading me. When I finished the entry for Wednesday I thought, ‘Holy Shit.’

    This bit of truth telling I’m sharing with you is my way of saying that your story was one of the best I’ve ever read in the 100 word format. Or any format. Wow.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    1. Thank you for your very kind words Doug.
      I wasn’t sure if the diary idea would work as I was trying to squeeze it all in to just 100 words.
      I’m glad it worked for you.

  2. For me the diary form worked…I like it in fact.
    Thought provoking reading…didn’t expect the last entry to have the impact but did read with no expectations … it was a WoW reaction from me. Stunning writing.

    I like the 100 word format…makes use of every word, no riff raff and fillers.

    Peace,
    Siggi In Downeast Maine

  3. Oh Mike, that’s awful! Well – it’s beautifully done, but really rather sad! I’m just hoping it’s a typical teenage diary entry – all present tense emotion, no future tense inevitable reappraisal! A lesson to a LOT of separating parents out there! Nice piece.

  4. Oh wow, Mike you really got me with tis one. I felt so bad for her, and was actually wondering who she would choose on Wednesday, then that last entry just smashed me in the face. I like the diary/journal style, it suts thie perfectly. Excellent!

  5. Wow. I can quite honestly say that this would have to be my favourite of all your posts. That last entry sent chills down my spine and put tears in my eyes.

    So short, and yet so powerful. Incredible work, Mike!

I look forward to reading your comments

