The End Is Nigh – 100 Word Story

After reading a number of Friday Fictioneers using this prompt to come up with stories of aliens (why didn’t I think of that in the first place?) I’ve written another 100 word story.

The End Is Nigh

Insignificant. It fell to earth late one dark December night unnoticed, undetected. Here, among these barren, wind swept rocks, it has lain dormant for hundreds of years, waiting for its instructions. They finally arrived early this morning. Beamed earthwards from a star, many light years away. From a race that has been watching us and waiting, knowing this day would come. The emerging tentacle will grow stronger each day as it bores its way through the earths crust down to the very core of this doomed planet. By the time we realise what is happening, it will be too late.

MikeJackson©2012

19 thoughts on “The End Is Nigh – 100 Word Story

  1. I REALLY like this one ! I was trying to think along these lines, but drew a blank…
    and when I came back to earth, having posted my try at this prompt…there yours was !
    Love it.
    Thank you…
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    1. PS….By the time I realized what was happening in my yard, I have an apple tree and chestnut tree growing amongst the lilacs ! That is why this piece struck such a cord with me. Thanks again. Siggi in Downeast Maine

I look forward to reading your comments

