From The Shadows

I think I might have missed a day on the Buddha Rocks Project – so not sure if this counts as Day 6 or Day 7 or both! Thanks to Eric at Buddha Rocks for the picture.

From The Shadows

Dear You,

By the time you read this letter I will be gone. I know I should  have told you face to face but I didn’t have the courage. You’ve always been too strong for me and I know I would have changed my mind if you’d begged me to stay. Trust me this way is much better, for the both of us.

You have to believe me when I tell you that it was not an easy decision to make. We’ve actually been together now for longer than I care to think about. I remember the first time you noticed me, you were only a toddler. We had so many great adventures. Do you remember those early days, we couldn’t be separated and we had such fun. It was a joy to be with you, following you on all your travels. But you’ve changed.

Nowadays you scare me. Some of the places you take me to make my stomach turn. You don’t seem to notice, but I do. Following you from place to place, meeting the sorts of people you now call your friends, really scares me. There have been nights when I’ve wondered if we were ever going to make it  home in one piece. I can’t take any more.

There was a time when you used to talk to me, but not any more. I’ve tried whispering in your ear, warning you about what you are doing, but you take no notice. In fact I might as well have not been there. I’ve had enough. I can’t just follow you    and watch something terrible happen, that’s why I’m leaving.

Don’t try to look for me or find out where I’ve gone because I’m not coming back. There may be times when you think you catch a glimpse of me over your shoulder, but if you do I’ll quickly be gone. Don’t worry too much about me because I’m off to be with friends. I’ll be living in dark alleys, or poorly lit doorways with other homeless shadows like me.

I will miss you always. Take care,

Your Shadow

10 thoughts on “From The Shadows

  1. Sad! The idea of homeless shadows…
    That’s going to stick with me.
    Its day 7! Last day!
    Thanks for all your participation. I’ve really enjoyed your pieces!

  2. Aww, so sad, don’t know why the image of homeless shadows in doorways bothers me. Nicely done, love your imagination.

I look forward to reading your comments

