You Promised

Day 4 of the Buddha Rocks Project. Again the picture prompt is from Eric’s ‘Buddha Rocks’. Today’s picture is entitled ‘Night Time Rain’. I thought I would try writing a Haibun (a short piece of prose finished off with a haiku).

You Promised

You promised you would come. At ten, you said, beneath the town hall clock. So here I am, bag packed, waiting. Patiently watching the minutes stretch into hours. Sodden by the night-time rain I stand in the dim glow of the street lights expecting you to come round that corner any minute. My silent tears fall on to the single leaf, sitting forlornly at my feet. You promised you would come. Where are you?

solitary leaf
lying in the night-time rain,
lost and forgotten

MikeJackson©2011

9 thoughts on “You Promised

I look forward to reading your comments

