A Mixed Bag For The Sunday Whirl

I thought I might have another go with this week’s Sunday Whirl words. This time it’s a real mixture – 4 Haiku (rustle, sunshine, mellow, spinning)  4 Six-Word Stories (untidy, rush, subliminal, gullible) and 4 Twitter Stories  – all 140 characters or less (fulcrum, smug, shudder, ruddy)

 

dry, Autumn leaves
rustle under hurrying feet –
waiting to be swept

watery sunshine
glinting through the barren trees –
Winter is coming

soft, mellow colours
of the slowly setting sun
lit up the fresh grave

his head was spinning,
too much full-bodied red wine –
now was the moment

~~~~~~~

His untidy life needed her organisation.

She rushed towards him – he fled.

His excuse was those subliminal messages.

Naively gullible – so I exploited him.

~~~~~~~~

This man was the very fulcrum of our corrupt nation. At the pinnacle of his depravity. We so wanted to be like him. But first he had to go.

He had a smug look on his face. He was cheating on her again. He didn’t know she knew or what she had planned. Her revenge would be sweet.

I shudder at the thought of his hands on my body. His stale breath whispering that recurring threat,”You mustn’t tell anyone our secret.”

His ruddy face and bright bulbous nose told me that he drank too much and it was killing him. Then I met his wife and understood why.

MikeJackson©2011

 

One thought on “A Mixed Bag For The Sunday Whirl

  1. Such a wonderful assortment of mini-stories!

    I particularly loved this one:

    I shudder at the thought of his hands on my body. His stale breath whispering that recurring threat,”You mustn’t tell anyone our secret.”

I look forward to reading your comments

