Posted in Flash Fiction, Haibun

My Father’s Father – A Haibun For The Sunday Whirl

The words from this week’s Sunday Whirl wordle I thought were quite challenging. The word rambunctious was not easy!

I’ve ended up writing what I might loosely call a haibun – a short story with a haiku at the end.

My Father’s Father

I had always admired the hat-rack. All those splendid hats hanging neatly on their hooks. I would often dream about the grand people they might all belong to. Those trips to this great house in my father’s rather dilapidated automobile had been the highlight of my Summer holidays. I remembered the huge bell by the great front door and the very old butler who used to let us in. While my father was always taken into the ballroom I  was given the freedom of the enormous gardens. Like a rambunctious child let off his leash I would charge around the great open spaces, chasing swallows across the vast lawn, racing over the wooden bridges that spanned the three large ponds or trying to stalk the fallow deer which roamed the nearby woodland. The day always ended with a visit to the kitchens and a large slice of crumbly cake.

Now, here I am, 30 years later, still visiting the same grand house. I ring the bell and the lady of the house lets me in,  the old butlers duties now obsolete. I notice that nowadays the old hat-rack remains empty, a sign, maybe, of the modern times we live in. My young son is taken off to play in the gardens while I make my way to the ballroom. Twice a year, every year, just like my father, I come to this old house to tune the family’s  grand piano.

my father’s father
trod the very paths I tread –
what will you do son?

MikeJackson©2011

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

18 thoughts on “My Father’s Father – A Haibun For The Sunday Whirl

  1. The piano isn’t all that’s grand about this. Nicely done, Mike. You found the answer to the all the difficult words by building a house with a hat-rack, a ballroom and a grand piano, and turned them into a memorable write. Excellent.

    Like

  2. Softly written. Good ‘shtufffs’. The Haiku, made me think of my own situation. I chose a different path in every regard of that of my father. Though he supported me, he did not understand.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments.
      My parents were from such a different age – they didn’t want me to follow in their footsteps so I was thevfirst one to go to University. Likewise they were always very supportive and proud but had no real idea of what I was doing.

      Like

  3. Rich writing, Mike. I’m truly enjoying all the prose this week. We have a couple of pianos that are in desperate need of tuning. Alas, there are no butlers here…only birds that want to squawk their way through the tuner’s task. 😉 The haiku is adds a seamless finish to your write. Brava!

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

