Some Different Haiku

Day 11th of the September challenge at Haiku Heights. To day there is no set topic. I have been reading some contemporary English haiku where there is a lot less emphasis on the 17 syllable count. I thought I might try some:

summer evening
barbecue lit, sausages cooking –
heavens open

~~~

unexpected shower
at the summer fayre –
bulging beer tent

~~~

she waits
for her family to visit –
they don’t

~~~

sat in my chair
watching the world go by –
too quickly

~~~

blind date
rose in his buttonhole –
I leave quickly

MikeJackson©2011

18 thoughts on “Some Different Haiku

  1. Nice contemporary haiku set….I enjoyed the terse and carefully chosen words… They did convey the messages you wanted to portray ~

    Thanks for the links as well. I might try it too though I like the archaic formal writing of haiku.

  2. Many thanks Grace.
    I think I prefer the more conventional 17 syllable form, but the contemporary approach is also challenging and fun. Certainly worth a try.

  3. I’m glad to see someone experimenting with haiku. Every once in a while I deviate from the 5-7-5 or 3-5-3 pattern, but then I hear cries of “That’s not haiku!” Oh, really? 🙂

    I like your little gem “she waits.” I imagine she is waiting still…

    Day 11: Spinning Grace

I look forward to reading your comments

