Posted in Haiku, Poetry

Two Sedoka – ‘Unwanted’ & ‘Love Letters’

hidden from my dad
behind big, sloppy jumpers
my unwanted pregnancy
helpless unborn child
unloved, hidden from the world
who will be your saviour

~~~~~

tied with blue ribbons
bundles of old love letters
long ago kisses still attached
as I close my eyes
I feel your sweet lips on mine
death cannot steal my memories

MikeJackson©2011

I love coming across different forms of poetry. Amanda in her blog, ‘iblogmoore’ has an interesting page about different poetry forms. It was here that I came across ‘Sedoka’ – an old obscure form of Japanese poetry. It is an unrhymed poem made of two 3 lined ‘katauta’ with syllable counts 5-7-7, 5-7-7. A sedoka is a pair of katauta as a single poem. As well as being a single poem the two katauta should be able to stand alone.

Shared with Poets United.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

12 thoughts on “Two Sedoka – ‘Unwanted’ & ‘Love Letters’

  1. I really liked both Katautas and admire you for trying and coming up with such great poems. I wish I had the discipline to write within constraints but it’s just not my style.

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

