Posted in Other Poems, Poetry

Far Away

your voice fills my head
your gentle touch caressing me
swaying in the wind

blood drenched fields far away
young men stand and dream of home 

MikeJackson©2011

This picture from Short Story Slam Week 8′ haunted me for quite some time until this tanka poem emerged.
Also shared with dVerse Open Link Night and  ‘Sensational Haiku Wednesday’

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

22 thoughts on “Far Away

  1. Nice tanka.. total of 31 syllables. The pivot 3rd line, works well too, creating two stories.

    Your poem can apply to any war situation… I like the last line best.

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

