Posted in Flash Fiction

Dropping By For Supplies

As I looked around the room I realised that we were fast running out of viable options. The previously excited babble had been muted by the pictures flashing across the large screens. The gasps from the assembled group were clearly audible when the face appeared on the screens and a voice filled the room.

“Good evening ladies and gentlemen. I’m sorry to have kept you all waiting. Is there someone in charge who I can speak to?”

“That will be me. I’m Daniel Green, I’m the Prime Minister.”

“Ah, Prime Minister, what an honour to meet you. I only wish it was in different circumstances. May I call you Daniel?”

“I don’t care what you call me, just tell me what’s going on. Who are you? What do you want?”

“Patience Daniel, patience. All will soon be clear. But forgive me, where are my manners, I haven’t introduced myself. My name is Vadison, Commander Vadison of the Volgan Interplanetary Expedition Force. All those dots in the sky that you have been monitoring and tracking over the last 12 hours are my fleet. We are on our way to visit you.”

“I need to warn you Commander that, unless you can convince me to the contrary, we will see your advance as hostile and will be forced to attack. At this very moment our most elite fighters are on stand by and ready to stop you on my command.”

“Oh Daniel, if you must, you must. I can see that somebody in your position needs to be seen to be doing something. So please go right ahead and send out your fighters. I’m afraid it won’t make any difference. We have been studying your planet for some time and I’m afraid to say your most lethal weapons are, in our eyes, so primitive that they won’t come anywhere near damaging our protective shields.”

“So what do you want? Why are you coming here? Are you invading planet Earth?”

“Nothing of the sort Daniel. We are far too busy to worry about such an insignificant planet as yours. No we are merely stopping off to replenish some supplies, then we will be on our way again.”

“What sort of supplies? Is there anything we can do to quicken up the whole process?

“That’s very kind of you Daniel but we will be fine thank you. All we will need is some meat and some water. We will be arriving in 30 minutes and will be gone by morning. By then we will have taken all we need – we will have drunk your seas dry and swallowed up all of mankind.”

MikeJackson©2011

This short story was in response to the prompt at ‘3 Word Wednesday’ – the challenge was to write a piece including the words – viable, gasp, mute.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

6 thoughts on “Dropping By For Supplies

  1. Typical, threaten before you enquire… enough cause for aggro. Makes one wonder if any real negotiators would be available if such a thing were to happen. Very nice, Mark.

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

