Posted in Other Poems, Poetry

My City – A Poem For dVerse Poets Pub

My City

A thousand
thousand
jackboots
marching in
sombre unison
steel toed
boots on
uneven cobbles
shattering the
eerie silence,
crowds of
frightened faces
line pavements
looking on as
uninvited guests
enter their city –
the spoils of war.

 

MikeJackson©2011

In response to the challenge from Claudia at dVerse Poets Pub to write a poem on the theme ‘Cities’

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

24 thoughts on “My City – A Poem For dVerse Poets Pub

    1. Thanks for your comments Claudia.
      I actually had no particular city in mind – unfortunately it’s the sort of scene that has a habit of repeating itself over the ages, including today, in many of our cities across the world.

      Like

    1. Thank you for your comments Mary.
      As I said in my reply to Claudia I wasn’t actually thinking of a particular city. Our history is full of such armies entering cities as either invaders or liberators depending on whose eyes you watch through – even today.

      Like

  1. The rhythm of this, and the word choice, gives it a spooky atmosphere. I don’t want to be there. My whole self is resistant to it.

    I wanted to comment about another story of yours I read in my feed reader, but it seems to be gone: the one with the two dads. It made me laugh. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments Jen.
      Like you this is definitely somewhere I wouldn’t want to be.

      I will put the two dads story back up – not sure why I took it off!

      Like

    1. Hi Mike, thanks for your supportive comments.
      Until a couple of months ago I was only writing short stories & then I got hooked on experimenting with poetry. I’m still playing around with different forms and learning so much. I worry that I’m neglecting my short story writing.

      Like

I look forward to reading your comments

