Posted in Poetry

What Is It You Do?

How many times have you found yourself in the position where someone asks you what you do and you think twice before telling them you write!

What Is It You Do?

What is it you do?
A writer.
Well I never.
How absolutely marvelous.
I’ve never met a ‘real’ writer before.
What’s your name?
Are you famous?
Have I read any of your books?
Oh, I see.
So you’ve not actually
had anything published then.
No best sellers,
no chick lit or erotic poems.
A shame.
What about magazines?
Oh, none of those either.
Any writing competition successes?
Letters to the editor?
Travel pieces?
No, I thought not.
Never mind,
maybe one day.
Well it’s been nice chatting.
Must dash.
I hope things get better for you
with this ‘writing’ thing that you do.
I’ll keep an eye out for your book.
What did you say your name was?

MikeJackson©2011

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

18 thoughts on “What Is It You Do?

  1. So, so true. I often feel embarassed to admit to people that I write poetry, daft I know.
    In fact only my very close friends know this, and when I did tell them their responses were very interesting!
    A great poem, thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

