Posted in Flash Fiction

Too Young To Live – A story for ‘Inspiration Monday’

Another story for one of the writing prompts this week from Inspiration Monday’. The prompt was, ‘Too young to live’

Too Young To Live

“Any news on the latest batch Jones?”

“Just being processed Sir. It appears we brought in 478 this time. They came in sometime earlier this morning, Sir.”

“Well done Jones. Any problems?”

“No Sir. The snatch squads were in and out again before anybody knew what was happening. If any of the neighbours did notice anything they will be far too frightened to say anything.”

“It’s important that we maintain that level of fear. It might be worth a couple of your men visiting some of those neighbours later on Jones, just to make sure.”

“Leave it with me Sir. My men will make sure that nobody speaks.”

“In the mean time Jones I’ve got fresh orders for you. It appears that the Ministry is under pressure to raise targets. From next month your quota is going to have to increase from its present 2,000 per month to 3,000. Can you manage that?”

“It will be tight Sir but I’m sure we can make it happen. Will the target group be the same Sir?”

“Afraid not Jones. That’s being changed as well. From now on anybody born between March 1st and December 31st will be included. The researchers are drawing up fresh lists for you as we speak. Incidentally Jones, when is your birthday?”

“February 29th Sir. Do you know why the changes are happening Sir?”

“Not really sure Jones. Lots of rumours around of course but very little in the way of hard facts. I’m led to believe that the whole pension problem is getting much worse. It appears that more and more people are living longer. If we don’t implement these new targets straight away then there are going to be too many people in the future and not enough money. Simple as that. Anyway, it’s not down to the likes of us to ask why, we’ve simply got orders to follow.”

“Yes Sir. Thank you Sir.”

In that year alone over 120,000 young people were culled. All those between the ages of 25 – 30 and born between March 1st and December 31st were at risk except they didn’t know it. Snatch squads would appear in the early hours of the morning and young people just disappeared, nobody ever asked any questions. All records of these people were erased from the data bases, their personal possessions destroyed, their homes handed over to older members of the community. In a very short period of time it was as if they had never existed.

MikeJackson©2011

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

17 thoughts on “Too Young To Live – A story for ‘Inspiration Monday’

  1. Smooth and straight forward, well done Mr Mike. Funny thing is, that I can relate. I often think that between the age of 25 and 30 part of me, if not a considerable portion of my ‘me’ or ‘being’ was snatched without even being aware it. Gone were my youthful ideals of self-determination of how my life would evolve. My true identity ‘culled’ by outside influences of such sinister proportion, it makes me cringe to this day, how easily it happened. Any story that makes this ‘numb onion’ take pause and contemplate is a worthy one. Thank you for the ‘poke’.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comments and thoughts.
      It got me thinking of when I was aged between 25-30 (a long time ago now) and I was horrified to realise how right you are. It’s as if great chunks of that period have disappeared from my memory completely. Maybe this is the period where we move away from our idealism of teenage years and early 20’s and come out the other side ‘all grown up’?
      Mind you, my wife would claim that at the tender age of 60 I’ve still not grown up!

      Like

  2. Excellent take on the prompt. They may be “officially” gone, but the people left behind will never forget. I sense an uprising… perhaps a revolution…
    I want to see this expanded as a movie. 🙂

    Like

    1. Many thanks for your kind words.
      Have been re-reading 1984 recently – sure that must have influenced my thoughts when I was writing this piece.

      Like

    1. Thanks for dropping by. Glad you enjoyed this piece.
      Just been off to visit your site and enjoyed the ‘other damn poetry blog’ on my way back to leave some comments.

      Like

  3. Orwellian. Yes. With a hint of Ebenezer Scrooge. If they’re going to die (as we all do eventually), they’d better do it now and decrease the surplus population.
    I’m with Kay, looking forward to an uprising.

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

