Posted in Flash Fiction

When The Gods Play

A light-hearted story following the prompt, ‘Atlas shrugged’ from this week’s “Inspiration Monday’ writing prompts on  ‘Be Kind Rewrite’

When The Gods Play

“Are you joining us Atlas? We thought we might have a bit of a fun day and go off, have a few drinks and create a new Universe. What do you say?”

“I’m not sure, I’m kind of busy at the moment. Who’s going?”

“Well there’s Heracles and your brother Prometheus and me.”

“It sounds fun and I’d like to come, trouble is I’ve been lumbered with this job of holding the world on my shoulders. I could put it down gently, come and join you and then pick it up again later I suppose. Only thing is Zeus gave me this task and if he finds I’ve skipped off for a few hours he’s not going to be very happy. You know what he can get like, not the sort of god you want to upset.”

“Your trouble Atlas is that you worry too much. You take your responsibilities far too seriously. I know for a fact that Zeus is off fighting some war or another and is not due back for another week at least.”

“I suppose a couple of hours off wont do any harm. I must say my back is sore and I’ve not had any fun for centuries now. Can you help me get this thing off my shoulders?”

“Sure. Just hand it over and we’ll prop it up over there.”

“Careful now, it’s quite heavy. Are you ready?”

“Yep. Ready when you are. Oops! Sorry Atlas, it was much more slippery than I was expecting. I don’t think it’s too badly damaged, mind you that crack down the middle does look a bit serious. Anyway forget about it Atlas, just shrug your shoulders and move on. We can soon find you another world. Now if I leave you to get the drink I’ll nip off and get Prometheus and Heracles and we’ll be off.”

MikeJackson©2011

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

7 thoughts on “When The Gods Play

I look forward to reading your comments

