Posted in Flash Fiction, Writing

I Used To Be Someone Else (Inspiration Monday)

‘Inspiration Monday’ time again. For this short story I’ve used the prompt, ‘I used to be someone else.’

Number 135476 

I used to be someone else.

Oh yeah, who was that then, someone famous was it? Don’t tell me, let me guess, I bet you was Elvis. You wait ’til I tell my missus I’ve been chatting with Elvis, that’ll make her giggle.

No, seriously, before I came here I had a name and a life.

Course you did mate. That’s what they all say in here. If I had a pound for every person who told me that I could retire from this lousy job and live like a millionaire.

I don’t care about the others. I just know that I used to be someone, I just can’t remember the details.

Maybe you should leave it like that, don’t want to go upsetting yourself trying to remember things best forgotten.

But I don’t want to forget. There must be somebody here who can help me. What about the records? This establishment must have precise records about us. They would tell me who I used to be.

I don’t know nothing about any records. My job is to just look after the people on this corridor, people like you. Why don’t I go and make us both a nice cup of tea?

I don’t want tea! I want to know who I am. Couldn’t you find out for me?

Me! You must be joking. More than my jobs worth that would be. There’s some very serious people running this place. There’s no way I’m going to do anything that might upset them.

In that case I will go and find out for myself. If you will just unlock the door and tell me where to go.

Now come on Number 134576 you know I can’t unlock this door. It’s against regulations. If I did that we’d both be in serious trouble.

OK. I’ll do it myself. As soon as you’ve gone I’m going to break down this door and find out who I really am.

I think you’re forgetting about Number 135489 aren’t you? He tried that only last week. He didn’t get far. The cameras monitored him from the moment he stepped into the corridor. The security people caught him just three minutes later. It was all so messy, I’ve never seen so much blood. It’s a good thing these corridors are completely tiled otherwise it would have taken ages to clean it all up.

But I need to know who I am.

Of course you do Number 134576. Now if you just roll up your sleeve I’ll give you some extra medication, get rid of all those silly thoughts you’re having, then I’ll go and get us both that cup of tea. Two sugars was it?

MikeJackson©2011

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

24 thoughts on “I Used To Be Someone Else (Inspiration Monday)

  1. This is creepy! I can see this as a scene from some horrific apocalyptic future sci-fi movie. Of course, I haven’t written for this weeks prompts, shoot, I shouldn’t have read yours now. Too good to wait to read though. Wonderful work.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words.
      I struggled a bit with this one – I couldn’t get past the idea of someone saying “I used to be someone else.” So I went back to dialogue only, which I enjoy.

      Like

    1. Thank you Kay.
      Glad you enjoyed it.
      I do enjoy this dialogue writing – but I mustn’t get stuck in a rut, so the next few stories are not going to have any dialogue in at all (he says hopefully!)

      Like

      1. Stuck in a rut.. I know what you mean. A lot of second person has been coming out of me. I’ll have to swear it off! But sometimes it just happens all on it’s own! 🙂

        Like

  2. I want more! This makes me curious. Who was this person and why are they locked up? Is there a big escape and then do they save the whole society. Could be a great dystopian piece. Nice work!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words.
      I love the compliment, ‘scads of natural talent’ not sure what ‘scads’ means but enjoyed the compliment anyway. Thanks.

      Like

  3. I love your dialogue. Don’t stop! It conjures up a perfect picture in my mind of the characters.

    I can’t even think of doing dialogue. Too scary. You are a natural at it. I learn from you every time I read your stories!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your very kind words.
      I wasn’t sure if I could ‘do dialogue’ – one of the great things with the blog is you can just have a go & then see what people think.
      I loved your internal dialogue story (I Used To Be Someone Else) – looking forward to a dialogue only story from you soon.

      Like

  4. The funny thing here, is you make me like this guy without knowing anything about him. I don’t even care, really, what has happened to society and why they are all living like that – I just want to know who he was, and who his family was. Awesome job.

    Like

  5. Thank you Sonia.
    I’m enjoying writing these dialogue only stories – they seem to allow me to go down ether a serious road or a more humorous one.

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

