Posted in Stories

The End Of The World Is Nigh (Inspiration Monday)

Stephanie at Be Kind Rewrite has come up with another set of interesting prompts for this week’s Inspiration Monday’ – the prompt for this story is ‘Why is the sky black?’

The End Of The World Is Nigh 

“Why is the sky black Jimmy?”

“No idea mate. Never seen it that dark before. Mind you it’s hard to tell, what with them bars and the window being so small. Reckon we’re in for one hell of a storm.”

“They ain’t storm clouds Jimmy. Look closely. It’s mid-day and the sky is as black as night.”

“You’re right, very black. Maybe it’s one of those eclipse things.”

“Can’t be Jimmy otherwise we would have heard about it on the radio. You don’t think it might be something more serious do you? I heard some blokes talking at breakfast and they’d heard it was the end of the world. What do you think Jimmy?”

“Could be, mind you I’ve never seen an end of the world before so I wouldn’t know for sure.”

“What we going to do Jimmy if it is the end of the world? You’re the clever one, you must know about these things.”

“First we need to get our facts straight. Is it just bad weather or is the world going to end? Why don’t you go and check on the radio, see what they’ve got to say, meanwhile I’m going to finish this crossword.”

“I’ve done that Jimmy. The bloke on Radio 4 says it’s not the weather. He says the forecast was for a sunny day. They’ve been interviewing some expert who reckons it really is the end of the world. He says it’s probably going to happen some time today or by tea time tomorrow at the latest. What are we going to do Jimmy?”

“Well, first things first. Are you Church of England same as me?”

“Don’t know Jimmy. How do you tell?

“Have you ever been to church?

“I spent six months nicking lead off church roofs. Nice little earner that was until we got caught. Must have visited 10 churches during those six months, in fact we went to St. Jude’s twice. Does that count Jimmy?”

“That’ll do just fine. What we need to do next is get hold of a vicar and confess all our sins. It’s important we do it before the world ends.”

“When you say confess all our sins Jimmy do you mean every single one. Do I need to tell him about that bullion job I did last year but didn’t get caught for?”

“So that was you was it? Very impressive. Yes you need to tell him everything, even the small ones, just to be on the safe side. Why don’t you see if you can get hold of that vicar while I start this Sudoku.”

“Jimmy, the guard says the prison vicar has been overwhelmed with requests for confessions. Says it all got too much for him and he’s gone of sick. They don’t expect him back until a week on Tuesday at the earliest. What are we going to do Jimmy? If we leave it until then it will be too late, this end of the world thing will have come and gone. Is this confession business really necessary?”

“Essential mate, bloody essential. If it’s the end of the world and we haven’t confessed we could find ourselves with all sorts of delays afterwards. We don’t want that do we? Did the guard say if there was anyone else available?

“He said something about a Catholic priest Jimmy. Apparently he’s very young and not been here long, but he could fit us in this afternoon.”

“Catholic you say. Are you a Catholic?”

“Me, Jimmy, I don’t think so. Mind you I did squat in St. Peter’s for a week. That was a derelict Catholic church just outside Leeds. Would that count?”

“That would do nicely. Give the guard a shout and arrange for this priest to come and see us this afternoon. Try and make it for late on I’ve still got this Sudoku to finish and then I need my afternoon nap.”

MikeJackson©2011

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

16 thoughts on “The End Of The World Is Nigh (Inspiration Monday)

  1. I love the humor in your stories! The end of the world and he needs to finish Sudoku and take a nap! Although, as a Sudoku addict, I might have to finish, too. Great job as usual.

    Like

  2. Thank you.
    I love writing this dialogue only stuff – I find it much easier to picture the characters.
    This was another one I wrote this morning in the coffee shop (alongside ‘Death’s Artwork’) – must have been something in the coffee today!

    Like

  3. Hi Mike
    This is awesome. As Indigo said, it’s funny – also laughed at the Sudoku and nap part. But, as you mentioned, doing the whole dialogue thing is rather intriguing. Many people say they find it really difficult to do. I would guess you’re not one of them. Using your characters voices only, I had no trouble picturing them and their environment from the start of the story. Brilliant.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your great feedback. Glad you enjoyed this piece.
      I’m glad I was able to convey the characters and their surroundings to you. It is OK having them in my mind, but that’s no good if the reader doesn’t also get a clear picture.
      I find this sort of writing fun. I’m a great believer in the idea that if something is fun to do then it’s more likely to appear easy.

      Like

    1. Praise indeed! I thank you sincerely for these very kind words.
      When someone enjoys your writing it makes you even more keen to go out and write some more.

      Like

  4. This was very funny: “Could be, mind you I’ve never seen an end of the world before so I wouldn’t know for sure.”

    I love how you made something sad hilarious 🙂

    Like

    1. I’m so glad you enjoyed this short story.
      I’m not so sure that I would be as laid back as this if someone suggested to me that the end of the world was imminent.
      I would probably want to try and get at least another story on to my blog before it was too late!

      Like

  5. Good one Mike, black humour is something I enjoy, writing and reading. Somehow adds more into life I think. and if you did write another blog just minutes before the end of the world, I’d try my darnedest to read it and leave a comment, or at least press ‘like’ before the final countdown.!¬! xPenx

    Like

    1. Glad you enjoyed the story Pen.
      I’m enjoying writing these dialogue only pieces.
      Glad to know I’d have at least one reader if the end of the world came along!d

      Like

I look forward to reading your comments

