Posted in Writing

What To Do When You Can’t write?

I realise that when my head seems to empty of ideas I have a tendency to seek refuge in very short stories. Yesterday it was the 140 character stories and today it is some more 5×5 (25 word) stories. I tell myself that at least I am writing each day ……

It  all got too much. The job was so demanding. The kids were never quiet. This was the only solution. She hoped they would understand.

He watched her every day. She always looked so beautiful. Why did she ignore him? Did she know he existed? He smiled, she soon would.

The voices wouldn’t keep quiet. Day after day getting louder. Their instructions filled his head. He wanted to ignore them. They laughed at his foolishness.

The howling wind gathered momentum. Our flimsy tent shook violently. We huddled together for comfort. Eerie voices accompanied the wind. Something was looking for us.

“Everybody get down!” he shouted. Nobody was going to argue. I recognised the gunman’s voice. He realised I knew him. “Sorry,” he said and fired.

Jack and Jill climbed higher. The weather was getting worse. Their bodies were found yesterday. Jack still holding his pail. Jill was by his side.

Mrs. Dumpty was in tears. Her dear Humpty in pieces. The police thought he’d jumped. But she knew the truth. The King was behind this.

“Please, she cried, “Not now.” “I’ve got to,” he said. The doctor took the baby. Her anguish tore her apart. Her baby, gone for ever.

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

4 thoughts on “What To Do When You Can’t write?

  1. These little stories, be they 140, six words, or 5×5, sometimes are harder than a regular story since you have to pack so much into so little but still make an impact. You do this well, as all these show, and I think it shows the mind is still thinking creatively. Maybe they are all just kernels of larger stories that will be written eventually, or maybe it is just something your brain needs to exercise with at the moment.

    Whatever it is, they are all great little pieces. I can’t pick a favorite this time because I like them all!

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

