Posted in Flash Fiction, Writing

Domestic Violence

This is my second contribution to the writing challenge set on the Creative Copy Challenge blog. Twice a week they give a set of 10 words which you need to weave into a short story. These are the latest set of words:

  1. Hail
  2. Attached
  3. Profound
  4. Stuff
  5. Log
  6. Blow
  7. Catch
  8. Test
  9. Certain
  10. Block

This is my latest submission:

Domestic Violence

My friends told me how lucky I was. They all saw him as the perfect catch. Nobody was really surprised when we married that January less than six weeks after we had first met. He’d been keen that it should be a quiet, registry office wedding, apparently he didn’t believe in all this church stuff. It turned out to be a beautiful day. The hail that had been hammering against the roof during the brief service lay like snow on the ground when we came out. It gave a real wintry look to our wedding day photos. The only downside to the day was my parents not attending. They had made it very clear from the start that they thought we were rushing things. Mum made out she’d taken a real dislike to him and did her best to try to put him off marrying me.

The police log showed that mum had phoned our local police station nineteen times in the first three months of our marriage with claims of bullying and domestic violence. Each time the officers turned up at my door I was able to assure them that everything was OK. On the odd occasion that someone noticed the bruising I managed to block their questions with my plausible explanations. In the end I had to stop all communication with my parents, in particular my mum. At the same time the police warned her about wasting their valuable time.

The dream man who I first thought I was marrying turned out not quite as I had expected. Despite that I have become very attached to him. I’m not sure I would call it love but I definitely feel something for him and now feel more certain than ever that he is the man for me.

At first he had proved to be a real test of my patience but now I’ve got him well under control. In those early days he tried to stand up to me. He even had the audacity, at first, to hit out when I attacked him, hence the bruises. He soon learnt that every blow he landed on me would lead to more dire retribution on my part. He now knows better. I sometimes wonder if he regrets the day he married me and wishes he had taken more notice of my mum’s warnings.

MikeJackson©2011

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

9 thoughts on “Domestic Violence

  1. A good twist there Mike, leading us one way, then we find out the truth to who’s the perpetrator of the violence. I watched a programme on domestic violence against men, where the woman is able to control through a man’s natural inability to harm a female. I say natural as there are some who treat ‘women battering’ as a sport, my own father being one such. But in the main the view on domestic violence is man against woman. The opposite bringing shame and pity on the male used that way, though why it should be so is beyond me… xPenx

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments Pen.
      It is strange where some of our stories grow from. This one grew from the list of ten random words which were the prompt yet to look at them they don’t automatically point you in this or any other direction.
      I’m fortunate in having no first hand knowledge of such violence either from friends or family – I wonder, therefore, where the story came from?

      Like

  2. Very subtle leading up to the reverse of the expected. Nicely done.

    Of course, this could just be a ploy to cover up the search for your wife in the gardens 😉

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

