Posted in Flash Fiction, Writing

The Dark Is Afraid Of Me

The Dark Is Afraid Of Me

When you wake in the middle of the night screaming in terror, your whole body bathed in sweat, remember I am close by. The next time you have that feeling you are being watched, when the hairs on the nape of your neck stand up on end and you feel malevolent eyes piercing your back, then that is me. As the lights go out and your mind is overwhelmed with those frightening images that won’t go away, don’t forget it was me that put them there. You can run, you can hide but be assured there is no escaping me, I am with you always and forever. You are right to fear me, even the dark is afraid of me.

MikeJackson©2011

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

7 thoughts on “The Dark Is Afraid Of Me

    1. Glad you liked it.
      I have looked at this prompt a number of times & each time I only get menacing thoughts. It’s the idea of something or somebody that the dark is afraid of – now that makes me scared.

      Like

  1. ‘cos my name is Death, be afraid be very afraid… (that’s the only thing that scares me more than darkness…I know it happens to everyone, but doesn’t me I have to be friends now does it?) xPenx
    Forgot to say, Mike, enjoyed the scare and the shivers!!

    Like

  2. It was very well written, and I enjoyed it. But, I have a friend who is having trouble with a stalker at the moment. I thought for a moment it was you. You were very convincing.

    Like

I look forward to reading your comments

