Posted in Flash Fiction

I’m Not Crazy

I’m going to be away for a couple of days and wanted to get another story in  as part of ‘Inspiration Monday’ (Deadline this Monday coming.) Many thanks to Be Kind Rewrite for this prompt.

I’m Not Crazy

Dear Friends,

I know what you are all thinking. You are convinced that I have lost the plot, that my mind is going, that I am crazy. You might be right. As each day goes by I am also beginning to question my own sanity. The last time I met you all I could tell that you did not believe me. Sure you smiled sympathetically and muttered all the right words, if not somewhat unconvincingly, but it was the look in your eyes that told me what you really thought.

It is hard to believe that it is less than a month since I last spoke to you. In that short time you have been not available when I’ve called and my messages remain unanswered. It hurts me to think how quickly one’s friends disappear when the crazy talk begins.

The good news is that you will not have to endure me for much longer. A few more hours is probably all that I’ve got left. The alien force that inhabited my body just a month ago is getting stronger by the minute. At first I thought I could control and manage it, now I realize that was nothing more than wishful thinking. The energy I’ve used to fight him is all but spent, I know I can’t win.

You should have heard him laughing in my head as I tried, in vain, to explain to each of you what was happening to me. He lambasted each and every one of you and delighted in telling me what a fool I had been to think that my friends would ever believe my wild ramblings. He was right.

I need to finish this letter now. It’s the last thing that he’s allowing me to do. He has even agreed that he will let you see the letter, convinced that it will merely confirm your suspicions about my state of mind. As soon as I finish writing then the person you all know will cease to exist. Trust me my friends, I am not crazy – I never was. I just wish you had believed me and helped me.

Your Dearest Friend

Dr. Jekyll

MikeJackson©2011

 

Author:

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.

13 thoughts on “I’m Not Crazy

    1. Many thanks for your great comments.
      I’m so glad you enjoyed it.
      The idea started as an ‘alien taking over the body’ story – then the Dr Jekyll idea slapped me across the face!

      Like

    1. Thank you for your comments John.
      I don’t know about being good – but I’m certainly enjoying my writing.
      One of the joys of being recently retired is the time I now have to blog & write.

      Like

  1. I like the unusual slant on the Jekyll and Hyde story, and who knows? there may be some poor souls out there telling their friends and doctors that they aren’t crazy too…

    I can picture the scene…
    “Y’see doctor, there’s this alien….” “Yeah, yeah, tell me another… restraints please…” 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for visiting my blog Steve.
      I’m so glad that you enjoyed the story.
      You are right there is a very fine line between so called ‘sanity’ and ‘insanity’

      Like

  2. You always to an amazing job with a twist at the end. Just when you expect one thing it becomes something entirely different with a simple signature.

    Like

    1. Thanks for your comments.
      It is always great when someone says that they enjoy your writing – spurs you on to do more.
      I wasn’t sure where I was going when I wrote this story. Turning it into a letter came to me after I had written the rest & changed the whole thing completely.

      Like

I look forward to reading your comments

