A Present For The Boss – 100 Word Challenge For Grown Ups

Another story for this week’s prompt at ‘100 Word Challenge For Grown Ups‘. The prompt for this week’s 100 word story is ‘… you bought her what …

I wasn’t sure about posting two stories in one week as I’m a ‘newbie’ to this challenge. I’m sure if that’s not the done thing someone will tell me!

A Present For The Boss

“She’s the boss Jimmy! I can’t believe you bought her what you did.”

“But Billy  ….”

“Too late for excuses now Jimmy. Your mess. Nothing to do with me. You’re on your own.”

“I know Billy, but it’s ….”

“No ‘buts’ Jimmy. You’ve gone and screwed up big time. When she finds out, I wouldn’t want to be in your shoes.”

“But Billy, I’m trying to tell you she knows. That’s why she wants to see you. Straight away”

“Me? But why me Jimmy?”

“Not sure Billy. Something to do with the present. I told her it was from you.”

MikeJackson©2012

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in 100 Word Stories, Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to A Present For The Boss – 100 Word Challenge For Grown Ups

  1. Jan Morrill says:

    Ah-ha! Great build up and now I want to know what the present was. Poor Billy. :)

  2. Gilly Gee says:

    Clever Jimmy, clever Mike :-) :-) :-)

  3. Sally-Jayne says:

    That made me smile. Poor Billy – well and truly stitched up!
    Julia doesn’t have any rules about not posting more than one story – the more we have to read the better we like it :-) so keep them coming. I think my record is 9!

  4. healthfulmomma says:

    This is very interesting – what did he buy the boss??

  5. The curiosity is killing me, what did he get the boss? Is there trouble on the horizon? :-)

  6. Colline says:

    A good laugh for my early morning read :)

  7. Judee says:

    Fun turnaround at the end. :)

  8. buddhafulkat says:

    Great build up. I’m curious too – what happens next? Do we get to know?

  9. limebirdbeth says:

    Great use of the prompt Mike and thanks for popping by Limebird! I really want to know what the present was! Did you have an idea in your head about what it would be when you were writing this?

    • Mike says:

      Many thanks for your kind words.
      I had no idea of what the present might be when I was writing this & still don’t.
      Maybe that’s another story.

  10. Ooh sneaky Jimmy. I hope the boss loved the present after all. That’ll learn ‘im.

  11. IsobelandCat says:

    I am still laughing.

  12. jfb57 says:

    Oh this was so funny! I can hear the conversation! Oh well done & I’m happy for folks to write as many as they like. It’s about the challenge they offer so go for it Mike!

  13. Mike says:

    Glad it made you smile Julia.
    Thanks for your comments.

I look forward to reading your comments

