A Series Of 25 Word Stories

Some interesting prompts from ‘Inspiration Monday’ this week. I thought I would write a very short story (exactly 25 words long) for each one.

Waking Up To Silence

Deafening silence. I strain my ears, praying there might be someone else still alive. The only noise I hear are the voices in my head.

Not In My Job Description

“Make sure it’s done by the end of the day Jones.”
“But, sir, it’s not in my ……..”
“Just do it, and remember, no blood”

Empty Baggage

The trunk arrived two days later. He lifted the lid and froze, it was empty. No arms, no legs, no head, nothing. Where was she?

Forgot My Own Name

The hospital said it was concussion. Might be permanent memory loss. Can’t even remember my own name – which is handy considering who I am.

Bomby Weather

The rain clung to the metallic cases as they dropped out of the heavy clouds and onto the unsuspecting civilians below. Ideal weather for destruction.

MikeJackson©2012

About Mike

Now that I'm retired I have more time to devote to writing my blog and creating short stories.
This entry was posted in Short Stories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Series Of 25 Word Stories

  1. Joe Lerner says:

    Great stuff! So if 100 words is a dribble, 50 words a drabble, what’s a 25-word story?

  2. loustar02 says:

    Brilliant. I love “Empty Baggage” and “Forgot my own Name”.

  3. Evelyn says:

    all these are excellent!!!

  4. I loved the feel of Waking up to Silence – especially how the event that led to the silence is barely touched upon (I know it was only twenty-five words but still.) I also really enjoyed Bomby Weather, for pretty much the same reason. No backstory, no sense of humanity. Only war. Fantastic. Am now a fan of hint fiction.

  5. I loved these — particularly “Forgot my own name”. I could definitely imagine that as the first few lines in an intriguing novel.

  6. I love them all! You handily create a sense of a big story in a few words, that leaves me pleasantly intrigued at the end of each one.

  7. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: if wishes were dragons « BeKindRewrite

  8. You’re still at it, Mike…doing fabulously!

  9. Pingback: Inspiration Monday: if wishes were dragons | bekindrewrite

I look forward to reading your comments

